Garland, TX planning tool
Drying Electricity Cost Calculator for Garland, TX
Estimate the extra electricity used by drying equipment.
Independent referral service. We may receive compensation for qualified referrals. Availability and provider charges vary.
Free to use. Inputs stay in your browser.
GP&L published on peak example checked September 27, 2026: $0.0561 energy plus $0.0819 RAF equals $0.1380 per kWh, June through October energy schedule. The RAF can change monthly, and the source does not state its current effective date. Verify your bill before using the result. For November through May, the published energy tiers are $0.0528 for the first 600 kWh and $0.0370 above, plus RAF; enter the applicable marginal rate. Fixed charges and Green Choice are excluded.
Sources, Assumptions and a Worked Example
Hypothetical example: Two 600 watt units running 24 hours daily for three days use 86.4 kWh. At a hypothetical $0.15 per kWh, that is $12.96, excluding rental.
Results are planning scenarios, not provider prices, professional sizing or insurance decisions. Avoid overlapping scopes. Read the methodology
How the Drying Electricity Cost Calculator Works
How the Drying Electricity Cost Estimate Is Calculated
Electricity use equals watts divided by 1,000, times hours per day, days and number of units, which gives kilowatt hours. Multiply by your marginal rate per kWh to get the added cost.
The Garland Power & Light default is a published on peak example checked September 27, 2026: $0.0561 energy plus a $0.0819 recovery adjustment factor, $0.1380 per kWh, for the June through October schedule. The adjustment factor can change monthly, and GP&L serves only part of Garland, so other customers should enter the rate from their own bill.
Drying Electricity Cost Worked Example
Two 600 watt units running 24 hours a day for three days use 86.4 kWh. At the GP&L example rate of $0.1380, that adds about $11.92. Equipment rental and fixed monthly charges are not included.
What Changes Your Drying Electricity Cost Estimate
- Wattage: check the label on each fan or dehumidifier.
- Run time: most drying equipment runs around the clock.
- Unit count: large losses may use many air movers.
- Rate: use the energy charge plus any adjustment factor on your bill.
- Season: GP&L publishes different summer and winter energy tiers.
Sources Behind the Drying Electricity Cost Estimate


Drying Electricity Cost FAQs for Garland, TX Homeowners
How Much Does It Cost to Run Water Damage Drying Equipment?
The cost to run drying equipment equals total kilowatt hours times your electricity rate. For example, two 600 watt units running around the clock for three days use 86.4 kWh, about $11.92 at a $0.1380 per kWh rate. Larger jobs with several air movers and dehumidifiers cost proportionally more.
What Is the Garland Power & Light Electricity Rate?
A published Garland Power & Light on peak example checked September 27, 2026 shows $0.0561 per kWh energy plus a $0.0819 recovery adjustment factor, $0.1380 per kWh, for June through October. The adjustment factor can change monthly and the source does not state its effective date, so confirm the current rate on your bill.
Does Every Garland Home Get Electricity From GP&L?
Not every Garland home gets electricity from Garland Power & Light. The City of Garland supplies water throughout the city, but GP&L serves only part of Garland. Check the provider named on your electric bill and use that provider rate when estimating what drying equipment adds.
Can I Get Reimbursed for Electricity Used During Drying?
Some insurers consider the added electricity used by drying equipment during a covered water loss, but reimbursement is not automatic and depends on the policy. Keep equipment wattage, dates the equipment ran and your utility bills before and during drying, and ask the adjuster what documentation they accept.
Substantive content check: . Publisher: Garland TX Water Damage. Editorial policy
Talk Through Your Next Step
Water, fire, mold or biohazard in Garland or a nearby city. Describe what happened and ask about available help.
Independent referral service. We may receive compensation for qualified referrals. Availability and provider charges vary.